Gracing one of the walls in the Thurmont Center for Agricultural History are two charming windows from the previous Thurmont branch library location, when the building served as a Moravian Church from the 1870’s through the early 1900’s.
Prior to their arrival in the Thurmont Center for Agricultural History, these windows were stored in the attic at 11 Water Street. These windows were 2 of 8 original windows in the Library’s possession prior to the move to 76 E. Moser Road.
Among the 8 windows, not one remained perfectly intact: each window had broken glass in different sections. A member of the Thurmont Library Board was able to redistribute the unbroken pieces of glass from the 8 windows to create 4 complete windows, ensuring that all of the glass in the windows is original.
The Thurmont Library Board, Inc. donated 2 of the 4 reconstructed windows to the Thurmont Regional Library. The Board donated the other 2 windows to Graceham Moravian Church in honor of their 250th anniversary.